Colloid & Surface Chemistry


Abstract are being accepted for the 89th American Chemical Society Colloid and Surface Science Symposium

Posted on January 8, 2015 at 3:25 PM

Abstracts are now being accepted for the 89th American Chemical Society Colloid and Surface Science Symposium. The Symposium will take place June 15 - 17, 2015, on the campus of Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA. Please visit the Symposium website to view the technical program and submit your abstract. Abstract submission closes on April 6, 2015. 

The 89th annual technical meeting of the ACS Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry, the Symposium will highlight the latest scientific advances in colloid and surface science, its intersection with other scientific domains such as biophysics and environmental science, and its applications in biotechnology, coatings, functional nanomaterials, and other diverse areas. The Symposium is traditionally organized and hosted by a university, and it thrives on strong international and multidisciplinary attendance by participants from academia, industry and national laboratories. Approximately 500 oral and poster presentations are expected for this premier event in our field. The set of technical symposia has been carefully composed to provide forums for the foundational topics in colloids, surfaces, nanomaterials and soft condensed matter, as well as emerging topics and applications. 

In addition to 13 technical symposia and a poster session, the Symposium features two distinguished plenary lectures, the Unilever Award lecture, the Victor K. LaMer Award lecture, and an instrument exhibition. This year's plenary lecturers are Professor Tejal Desai of the University of California at San Francisco and Professor David Pine of New York University. 

The social program includes a dinner welcoming reception on Sunday, June 14, a Monday evening poster session with refreshments, and the Tuesday evening Symposium Banquet at the Carnegie Museum of Natural History. 

Questions may be directed to the Symposium Co-Chairs.

Steve Garoff (, Jim Schneider ( and Bob Tilton (

Categories: None