Colloid & Surface Chemistry


view:  full / summary

Victor K. LaMer Award for Graduate Research in Colloid and Surface Chemistry

Posted on September 24, 2015 at 4:55 PM

Please find the announcement for the Victor K. LaMer Award for graduate research in colloid and surface chemistry attached.

Questions should be directed to:

Prof. Joelle Frechette, Dept. of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD 21218 - Phone: 410-516-0113 - Email:

2015 Nano Letters Lectureship Winner announced

Posted on July 10, 2015 at 4:30 PM

We are pleased to announce the winner of the 2015 Nano Letters Young Investigator Lectureship: Prof. Xiaolin Zheng from Stanford University. For further information, go to:

Abstract are being accepted for the 89th American Chemical Society Colloid and Surface Science Symposium

Posted on January 8, 2015 at 3:25 PM

Abstracts are now being accepted for the 89th American Chemical Society Colloid and Surface Science Symposium. The Symposium will take place June 15 - 17, 2015, on the campus of Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA. Please visit the Symposium website to view the technical program and submit your abstract. Abstract submission closes on April 6, 2015. 

The 89th annual technical meeting of the ACS Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry, the Symposium will highlight the latest scientific advances in colloid and surface science, its intersection with other scientific domains such as biophysics and environmental science, and its applications in biotechnology, coatings, functional nanomaterials, and other diverse areas. The Symposium is traditionally organized and hosted by a university, and it thrives on strong international and multidisciplinary attendance by participants from academia, industry and national laboratories. Approximately 500 oral and poster presentations are expected for this premier event in our field. The set of technical symposia has been carefully composed to provide forums for the foundational topics in colloids, surfaces, nanomaterials and soft condensed matter, as well as emerging topics and applications. 

In addition to 13 technical symposia and a poster session, the Symposium features two distinguished plenary lectures, the Unilever Award lecture, the Victor K. LaMer Award lecture, and an instrument exhibition. This year's plenary lecturers are Professor Tejal Desai of the University of California at San Francisco and Professor David Pine of New York University. 

The social program includes a dinner welcoming reception on Sunday, June 14, a Monday evening poster session with refreshments, and the Tuesday evening Symposium Banquet at the Carnegie Museum of Natural History. 

Questions may be directed to the Symposium Co-Chairs.

Steve Garoff (, Jim Schneider ( and Bob Tilton (

2014 ACS fellowships for Colloid and Surface Chemistry Members

Posted on October 7, 2014 at 4:20 PM

The following members of the Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry have become 2014 ACS Fellows. 

Dady Dadyburjor
West Virginia University

Todd Emrick
University of Massachusetts Amherst

Eric M. Furst
University of Delaware

Nancy E. Levinger
Colorado State University

Ryan M. Richards
Colorado School of Mines and National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Daniel K. Schwartz
University of Colorado Boulder

Keith J. Stine
University of Missouri–Saint Louis

Richard C. Willson
University of Houston

Younan Xia
Georgia Institute of Technology

Candidates sought for COLL Executive Committee positions

Posted on August 27, 2014 at 4:20 PM

Dear ACS Colloid and Surface Chemistry Division Members,

The COLL Division of ACS is seeking candidates who would be interested in running for an officer position in the Division. (See below for a description of the open positions.) Being an officer is a great way of increasing your involvement in the Division, and having an impact on the many activities that the Division sponsors. COLL is an active and vibrant division of more than 2,600 members, and we are always looking for new people to participate in leading the Division. 

The open officer positions involve different levels of commitment and different activities. If you have any questions about a position of interest, please feel to contact me at or any of the other Division officers (a current list of officers can be found at

Elections will be held in early October. In order to have your name on the ballot, I (Mike Trenary) will need to hear from you, and have a copy of your current NSF-style CV (2 page) by September 26th at the latest. 

Thanks in advance for your continued support of the ACS Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry.

REMINDER-DUE 9/15: Request for Nominations for The Kavli Foundation Emerging Leader in Chemistry Lecturer, Denver Meeting

Posted on August 27, 2014 at 4:20 PM

Reminder - Nominations are due September 15 for The Kavli Foundation Emerging Leader in Chemistry Lecturer, Denver Meeting. Please see the attached nomination form. Nominations should be sent to

Dr. Daniel J. Beltrán-Villegas wins 2014 LaMer Award

Posted on July 7, 2014 at 4:20 PM

Dr. Daniel J. Beltrán-Villegas received his Ph.D. in 2012 in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at Johns Hopkins University with Michael A. Bevan and is currently a postdoctoral fellow in Chemical Engineering at University of Michigan with Ronald Larson. His research interests revolve around techniques for measuring of colloidal particle conservative and dissipative forces and modeling of dynamic assembly processes. In 2012 he received the 2nd place in the Langmuir Student Award competition held during the 86th Colloids and Surface Science Symposium. His Ph.D. research accomplishments include 14 publications in Langmuir, Journal of Chemical Physics and Soft Matter.

Dr Daeyeon Lee Announced as 2014 Winner of Unilever Award for Outstanding Young Investigator in Colloid and Surfactant Science

Posted on July 7, 2014 at 4:20 PM

Dr. Daeyeon Lee, Associate Professor of Chemical Engineering and Biomolecular Engineering at the University of Pennsylvania was the recipient of the 2014 Unilever Award for outstanding young investigator in Colloid and Surfactant science. Daeyeon received his Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering from MIT in 2007 under Professors R.E. Cohen and M.F. Rubner. Prior to joining University of Pennsylvania in 2009, Daeyeon was a post-doctoral fellow at Harvard with David A. Weitz. Daeyeon has won several awards and recognitions including the 2010 Victor K LaMer Award and the NSF Career Award in 2011. Daeyeon’s Unilever award is in recognition of his outstanding work that merges the two important types of materials - surfactants and colloids; i.e., Janus particles. The fact that Janus particles can be synthesized now in large quantities and that their behavior emulates the properties and funtionality of molecular surfactants is both fundamentally and practically important.

2013 COLL Spring Newsletter

Posted on February 27, 2013 at 3:05 PM

Click here to view the Spring Newsletter.